All About Eagles

1st January 2013

The figure of the eagle, as the king of birds, is commonly used as an heraldic emblem, and also for standards and emblematic devices.

Eagles build their nests, called eyries, in tall trees or on high cliffs.

Eagles have excellent eye sight that helps them to see to a distance of one to one and a half miles.

There are more than 60 species of eagles.

Weight: from 500 g (1.1 lb) and 40 cm (16 in), to the 6.7 kg (14.7 lbs)

Biggest eagle: Stellars Sea Eagle is the biggest eagle with a length of 85-105cm, wingspan of 220-245cm, 221-244cm and weight of 6.8-9kg

Habitat: Seacoast or any other body of water, especially lakes, deciduous forests.

Lifespan: 30 years

Speed: Large eagles could reach a maximum speed of 50 mph or 80 kph.

Diet: Reptiles, small mammals, fish, small birds

More than 60 species of Eagles.

The Booted eagle is one of the smallest of the species.

Eagles are birds of prey and have large hooked beaks and powerful talons making them powerful hunters.

The Moche people of ancient Peru worshiped the eagle.

The Crested Serpent Eagle is a solitary creature, found occupying the same territorial boundaries for years.

Under the eagle feather law in the USA only individuals of Native American ancestry are legally authorized to obtain eagle feathers.

An eagle can dive at 100 miles per hour.

The collective name for a group is a Aerie, Convocation or Flight.

The names given to babies are fledgling or eaglet.

The Eagle has been evaluated and is listed by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) as 'Least Concern' and as such they do not qualify as Endangered, Threatened or Near Threatened species.