Cape Town Tourism: Connecting Industry, Travelers And Opportunities Through Technology

4th October 2012

The election of two Board Members for the Cape Town Tourism Board will take place at Cape Town Tourism’s eighth Annual General Meeting on 18 October 2012 as outlined in the Constitution of Cape Town Tourism adopted at the Special General Meeting of 14 August 2008 and amended on 17 October 2011.

The Board of Cape Town Tourism comprises 13 (thirteen) members, as follows:

8 (eight) members elected at the Annual General Meeting of whom, subject to the availability and compliance with the criteria determined in terms of sub-clause 9.2.2.,

• at least 3 (three) must be South African citizens defined as 'black persons' in the Broad-Based Black Economic Empowerment Act, No. 53 of 2003, and at least 2 (two) must be female;

• the Chief Executive Officer of Cape Town Tourism (ex officio);

• the member of the City of Cape Town’s Mayoral Committee responsible for tourism, or his/her nominee (ex officio);
• the Director: Tourism of the City of Cape Town or his/her nominee (ex officio);

• up to 2 (two) members co-opted by the board.

Term of office:

The members of the Board of Cape Town Tourism serve a 3 (three)-year term of office commencing at the Annual General Meeting at which they are elected.

Each member of the Board is eligible for re-election, provided that members serve on the Board for no more than 2 (two) consecutive terms of office.

Members of Cape Town Tourism serving on the Board as at the date of adoption of the Constitution are entitled to continue to serve, provided that the time already served by them is taken into consideration for purposes of determining the 3 (three)-year term of office set out in sub-clause 9.3.1 and the maximum of 2 (two) consecutive terms (6 years) set out in sub-clause 9.3.2 of the Constitution.

Please use the download links below or visit to download the Nomination Form, contact Cape Town Tourism Head Office on (021) 487 6800 or email and we will gladly fax you a copy. Please return the Nomination Form with the necessary accompanying documentation by 17h00 on 10 September 2012 by email to Elana Theunissen using .
Your invitation to the Annual General Meeting will be received shortly.

For any further information, please contact Elana Theunissen on (021) 487 6800 or by e-mail on .

Source: Mariëtte du Toit-Helmbold / CEO of Cape Town Tourism

Download the nomination form
English | Afrikaans | Xhosa

Please also read the Cape Town Tourism Constitution and Duties and Obligations of Cape Town Tourism Board Members.